Recipe – My New Go-To Meal

These have been three very busy weeks which saw me travelling to three different countries in too little time and left me with no time to think about food or even cook it. When I finally had one whole day at home I craved some easy, simple food. And with this came the discovery that my new flat comes attached with a neighbourhood herb garden…yes that exists in real life!

This amazing herb patch is full of parsley, rocket, coriander and any other herbs you can imagine. It got me longing for really simple and flavourful dishes, full of chopped herbs and butter. I combined all this with the available ingredients in my kitchen: chicken thighs, avocado, baby potatoes and bread. Out of this was born chicken with warm ‘salad’.

All you need for this dish is:

  • Chicken Thighs (also works with other parts of the chicken but I find the thighs tastier)
  • Baby potatoes (or any other good salad potato)
  • Old bread, torn in small pieces (optional)
  • French Mustard
  • Avocado, chopped
  • A handful of chopped herbs (I had fresh rosemary, fresh thyme and parsley)
  • Chopped rocket (the spiciest the better)
  • Butter
  • Salt and Pepper

Begin by parboiling the potatoes in salted water. Then combine half of the chopped herbs with the mustard and marinate the chicken in that mixture for an hour or so (you can also do without the marinade if you are in a hurry, just brush the chicken with the mixture and cook straightaway) and then fry it in butter, just to crisp up the skin. Combine the potatoes, the bread and the chicken in an oven proof dish (I use a dutch oven, its quicker), season it, and mix the ingredients well so all the flavours really combine. Cook in the oven until the chicken falls off the bone and then mix everything with the avocado and the rest of the fresh herbs and the chopped rocket. Taste and season if needed. Voila!

Leave a Reply

